1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do you recognize a bass guitar?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by levelA, May 18, 2011.

1. levelA

levelA

May 18, 2011
    Hello @ all, I'm a newbie to this forum. Did not know about this here, although I'm a bass player^^.

For my bachelor thesis I try do design an extended-range bass. Therefore I need your help:
    I simply like to know how you recognize a bass guitar when looking at an instrument.

Thanx for your help ;-)

2. I usually look at the headstock and the tuners. Then, I'll look at the bridge location. Those 2 are pretty good indications from a distance.

I'm guessing you're wanting to know how we discern a guitar from a bass when watching a band play.

3. Its bigger, has bigger tuners, usually 4 strings, and emanates an aura of coolness. Also many look like a p or j basses, easily recognizable.

4. Also, an average scaled bass is longer and has a larger body than an average scaled guitar. That can be harder to see from a distance but a good indicator from row 10 and closer.

5. Hi.

Welcome to TalkBass levelA.

Now that You mention it, it's a very good question, since the erb's have stirred things up quite a bit. As have headless designs.

For me it's the string thicknesses relation to the scale length.

A 25" or even shorter ("guitar") scale bass instrument is perfectly doable if thick enough strings are used.

Regards
    Sam

6. nocontrols

nocontrols

Apr 2, 2011
    It's bigger. Longer scale length. Has four big, fat strings instead of six little, skinny strings. Makes all the ladies go unf unf.

7. JulienJeff

JulienJeff

Mar 1, 2009
    Belgium
    :D

8. JxBass

JxBass Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2008
  9. TheMutt

TheMutt Guest

Apr 28, 2007
    Normally I recognize a bass guitar by: (usually the order that I notice things in)

-Pickup type (P/J/MM/Darkstar/etc)