Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do you use your looper?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Petary791, Dec 25, 2005.

1. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    I don't have a looper yet, but I was checking out the Digitech JamMan in my shop and I have fallen in love. So my question is, how do you use your looper? I was just fiddling with it for like 20 minutes yesterday, but I started playing "Schism." I played the bass part twice and looped that then I played the guitar part harmony over it, then I started soloing in D minor. Pretty sweet.

2. BassGod

BassGod

Jan 21, 2004
    Oh man, you have no idea how much I want one of those. I've already planned what I'm gonna do with it first.

I figured I can loop some muted slapping and popping, sort of like a drum beat. Then over the beat I'll play this tapping thing I've already written. Then in some areas of the song, I'll turn on my distortion and maybe my wah pedal, and play a little solo over top.

I figure I can act as the bassist, drummer, and guitarist, and compose entire songs with it. Anyone tried this kinda thing?

It's pricey, but I couldn't see myself getting bored of it.

Graeme

3. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Noice, I might just totally steal your idea.

Just kidding.

But the drum idea is sweet. My co-worker has this solo piece that he's written where he plays one handed and beats his acoustic guitar, sounds real nice.

4. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I'd use mine as a doorstop.

And on break from that, I'd try some trippy stuff :p

5. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Yeah, like you could do the 2 octave up Whammy "meow" trick that Trey Anestasio loves so much.

Then make some weird reverse delay sounds on top of that.

Then some phaser noises.

Wow I need one.

6. tplyons

tplyons