Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do you use your power amp??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ldiezman, Jun 13, 2002.

1. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    Bridged, mono, or stereo? I'm wondering if I running bridged is the best way to go... or if that is a bad idea? I have ordered a Carvin DCM 1500 and not sure whats the best way to get the most out of it. I know running it in bridged mode i'll get the most power... but would it be better for my cab if I run both channels into it??? thanks for your help.. I'm new to the power amp world.. i've always used a combo amp because that is what has been available... but now that I have a fairly steady income... i can begin to go big :D

Thanks,

Jim

2. ebozzz

ebozzz Supporting Member

May 17, 2001
    Denver, Colorado
  3. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    You *can't* run both channels into one cab ... unless you bridge the two channels together, or unless the cab is amenable to biamping (i.e., separate inputs for hi-lo), which is common with PA cabs but AFAIK not so with bass cabs.

4. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I use one channel of my GA-1000 for my Triad.

5. jasonbraatz

jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    i run it stereo with a cab on each side. that way if i have to really crank the low end i can turn down the goliath jr so the speakers don't fly out.

if i had one 4 ohm cab or 2 identical 8 ohm cabs i'd bridge.

(which is exactly what will happen when i get my goliath sr! muhahahaha!!!)

6. Hugh Jazz

Hugh Jazz

Sep 13, 2001
    Atlanta, GA
    I have a slightly different question relating to poweramps: