Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How does the Steinberger Spirit XZ-2 compare to similar priced Ibanez&Yamaha basses ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Foo-O-Matic, Aug 12, 2004.

1. Foo-O-Matic

Foo-O-Matic

Aug 10, 2004
    Israel
    I was just wondering about that, coz yesterday I went to the music store and played the Ibanez GSR200 and Yamaha RBX170 (in Israel, where I live, they cost like 1500NIS, which is ~$300 :scowl: )
    well actually, it turns out better to buy it here in Israel, because of the warranty matter and customer service and such...
    ...Anyways, today I noticed the Steinberger Spirit XZ-2 in the MusicYo site, and I was stunned by the price and looks (as a matter of fact I always wanted a Steinberger). I know it is made in Korea, unlike the original Steinbergers which are USA, but remember, it is still my first bass and im still a beginner.
    I was wondering if you think that I should get the Steinberger or the Yamaha/Ibanez.... I also hope the Steinberger suits my style, I like warm and smooth Fusion sound.
    Thanks for reading all the long post, and I appreciate your help! ;)

P.S I know there were some threads about the Steinberger Spirits before, but my case is a bit different :)

2. Foo-O-Matic

Foo-O-Matic

Aug 10, 2004
    Israel
    bumpie
    and if someone have a soundclip or a link to soundclip of the Steinberger Spirit XZ-2 I will be glad to recieve it :)

3. cgworkman

cgworkman

May 14, 2004
    Ohio
    I'd avoid the Steinberger if I were you. I owned one and they're crap. If you really want a Steinberger get a USA made one. It's a huge price jump though.

The steinberger spirit is cheaply made - though it's biggest problem is the electronics. Maybe a good upgrade of the pups and you'd be good to go.

However, I can't compare the Spirit to the Yamaha as I've never played the Yamaha you're talking about.