How d'ya pronounce these woods?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Ozzel, Mar 18, 2004.

1. Just so I don't sound like an ignoramoose when I got shopping for exotic woods at the local custom wood shop, can someone please help me out with the pronounciations of these names? Thanks.

-Pau Ferro
  2. i'm pretty sure it's - wane-gay, pa-ew fair-oh, and pad-ewk

at least that's how i pronounce them, haha
  3. Wane-gay for Wenge? hmmm...

I've heard it pronounced "whenj" and "whenjie". Anyone know which is correct?
  4. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    I've heard wen-gee (hard "g", like clarified butter "ghee") and wen-gay (another hard "g"). Either way you'll seem like you know what you're talking about.

Just call pau ferro "morado" and you'll be okay. ;)
  5. kboyd

Jul 6, 2002
    I am an expert on wenge:) Wenge...pronounced (when gay).. :) A very hard dense wood worshipped by the east bay congo mufidious bunga tribe. A sharpened piece is used to cut the umbilical cord of all their babies, any self mutilation ritual, and also to kill any invading enemies with a club made of wenge. For those of you who must know, the scientific name........mehituondaheadicus widhardstickitus.
  6. unharmed

unharmed Iron Fishes

May 19, 2003
    London, England
    I studied German for a long time so when I look at it I see: "ven-GEH"
  7. schuyler

Aug 5, 2003
    Atlanta, GA
    WEN-gay, PA-ow FAIR-o, paa-DUKE. at least round here.
  8. Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden you ever try to learn other lingos? :rolleyes:

Wenge: this is actually diffcult! There are two major (international!) lines: venge (end similar to wrench), or venghe. Seems to be some debate on which is the original, african pronounciation.
    Pau Ferro: come on, US citzens, spanish is your second language! You should know some pronounciation rules of that language! Or learn.