Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How fast am I moving?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by cool dude todd, Dec 16, 2002.

1. ok heres the deal, i started playing bass about 11 months ago, the only instrument ive ever been interested in and have ever wanted to play(since around 6). i put at least a few hours in every day into it and there arent very many serious bassist around here. i have went from absolutly no knowledge in music to being what i consider pretty good. but i want to know, am i really any good at all or are the other bassists that i know just really horrible? i am starting to slap and write songs, i can play most of the stuff i hear, speed has never been a problem (except on maybe a few faster slap songs) and have what i would consider pretty fine technique (thanx to this site). ive had to teach myself everything i know and since ive started i only read tabs and learnt by ear. last night my girlfriend talked me into reading music and i got on my pc and looked up a good lesson. within an hour i had memorized most of the notes on the fretboard and a few arpaggios, and other scales. i can read a staff and recognise the notes and everything and it kinda scared me that within an hour or two i could read all that stuff. is this common for you people or am i taking this too fast? i really dont want to mess any of my bass life up from moving too fast, its the best thing in the world. almost nothing is more fun to me then sitting in my room playing for a good 8-9 hours at a time. but is that normal?

2. jblaven

jblaven

Nov 18, 2002
    :eek: :p Sure, when you start making the $$$ send me 20% for saying go for it :)

3. if nothing is more fun than bass for you, i think that's definitely the right direction.