Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How "good" are you?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by The Golden Boy, Jul 24, 2005.

1. I'm sure most of us here are musicians that realize there is so much more to the craft of making music than we are currently proficient at doing. In other words- we all know we can be better. But where do you think you're at as far as your abilities?

I'm a hack. It took me a really long time to get going- and I started around 9-10 years old. It really wasn't until I started playing guitar that I started playing with people. I really think I was at my creative best when I became a bass player for the second time. I wrote the best lines, they were cool lines in and of themselves, but they didn't intrude on the songs. I still think of myself as a hack, but an experienced hack. I've been on a plateau for a long time- and I'm competent in what I do- but I would like to learn more of both the bass and guitar.

2. I'm a long time guitar player recently turned bass player and I feel like I suck most of the time. Then I go play with some people who have not been playing very long and I gain some perspective again! You're right... we all have a long way to go no matter where you are and that's what I love about music. It's a life-long journey. There are lot's of better players out there than myself but I love what I do and I get better as I go along. Playing with people is where it is at. I get challenged consistently when I play with other but by myself at home... even to a click track, I don't get nearly as challenged.

3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
  4. I'm "this" good.
    (holds arms above head and spreads them really wide)

5. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    how good am i?

better than you

;)