Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How good is good: Session work

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by smoothergroover, Jan 21, 2001.

1. My ambition is to earn a living by playing bass. There were some good articles on session work in Bassist magazine but they raised some big questions:

-How good is good enough to do sessions?
    -Can I get into work on a part time basis, assuming I am competent and not instantly rejected for having a somewhat unfashionable and stereotyped day job (The Army)?

Hopefully some of the professionals (Bruce and Steve Lawson spring to mind in the UK) can help me out on this one...

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well, I don't know where people get the impression that I'm a professional - I've always been a part-timer and have never been able to devote as much time as I wanted to music.

I have met a few session players over here, but I think everyone is different. I mean I could say that they are all excellent sight readers who can play anything at the drop of a hat. But then you can probably find examples who don't read and just have a good ear and have played on a few "hip" records and have the "sought-after" sound of the moment.

My view is that in the music industry - being in the "right place at the right time" can be worth more than any amount of experience and expertise. Of course if we are talking orchestral session players, then they will have to have a lifetime's experience and knowledge of theory and reading. The session players who have a Jazz background will also really know their stuff, but in the world of popular music, I think it can be much more of a lottery and it's often a case of who the producer's heard of or just "contacts".