How good is Nikki Sixx as a bassplayer?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by BrandonBass, Jul 5, 2006.

1. BrandonBass

BrandonBass

May 29, 2006
    I kinda like him becaue he has one the coolest hair and image in the rock world. Of course hes no cliff burton or steve harris, but I can barely hear his bassplying in the crue's songs...opinions?

2. I think he's a knob, and Motley Crue are pretty much just a crappy generic hair metal band stuck in the 80s.

And he should lay off the eye shadow.

But as a bassist I think he's pretty boring.

PMagers, tindrum, GregC and 1 other person like this.
  3. He's pretty much standard rock bassist fare. Plays the root steadily, but that's about all. Bands like the Crue are all about the guitar and vocals, and, most of all, the image.

4. BrandonBass

BrandonBass

May 29, 2006
    With his amateurish techniques, how does he write those kickass songs?

5. cowsgomoo

cowsgomoo gone to Longstanton Spice Museum

Feb 8, 2003
    UK
    I dont think the two are connected... Crazy Crazy Nights is one of the greatest pop/rock stadium singalong songs ever but no-one rates Gene Simmons as anything but average as a bass player

6. "the coolest hair and image in the rock world" eh?:eek: :eek:

You really should get out more.:D :D :D :D

tindrum, GregC and ppiluk like this.
  7. dannoman

dannoman Supporting Member

Feb 3, 2004
    Actually, back in 82 he was the reason i started playing bass. He's not a fancy player by any means and compared to other bassist from that era (i.e. harris, burton etc) he's pretty simple, but he is solid and writes some great songs.

Great timing, always in the pocket and plays for the song.

Anthony D Gattuso Jr likes this.
  8. tzadik

tzadik

Jan 6, 2005
    Maine
    For the genre that he was in, he was perfect.

Would I call him to sub for a jazz gig?

Lawd no!