1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How hard is the adjustment 34 to 35 scale?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jlepre, Jul 29, 2012.

1. jlepre

jlepre Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2007
    Parsippany, NJ
    I'm looking at a Schecter Diamond P 5, have never played a 35 scale. I've seen some comments in threads that there is a learning curve to get comfortable with a 35. Is this merely to feel where the frets are? I've been playing bass for over 30 years, and can play my 34 scales with my eyes closed. Will this change with a 35?

2. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    IME, switching is not a big deal. You will, very quickly, still be able to play with your eyes close. However, if you are that comfortable with 34, 35 may never feel quite right.

3. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.
    It's up to you. Some say they do not have a problem with it.
    I could never get use to my Peavey Curris and sold it.

4. JoelFT

JoelFT Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2011
    Newnan, GA
    After playing bass for twenty-two years I bought my first 35". I have barely noticed a difference.

5. rms2

rms2

May 27, 2008
    VA

35 didn't work well for me. When reading charts I kept missing especially in the higher register. While looking at my left hand I was okay but the other problem was the stretch in first position was too much. But I didn't stick with it for long, and all my other basses are 34 scale. Like you I have played 34 scale for a long time. From my experiment with 35 I now know that muscle memory is important and I don't want to mess with it.

6. Easy if you ask some. Impossible if you ask others. Perhaps somewhere in between.

7. CTC564

CTC564 Gold Supporting Member

Mar 7, 2011
    Toms River,NJ
    I never had a problem with it...