1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How Important DI Box for Bassist?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by tyohars, Nov 4, 2019.

1. tyohars

tyohars

Nov 11, 2016
    So, I was a plug and play bassist until a few months ago. Now I have a compressor (Hyper Luminal), overdrive (Boss ODB 3), and modulation (MXR Chorus Deluxe). So, my father happen to know bass player from one of the biggest band in my country and I talk to him a few weeks ago. So, he tell me the importance of DI Box. Is it really that important? I have a Sire V7 and MIJ Fender P. Are Radial Stage Bugg good enough for my first DI?

2. Stan_da_man

Stan_da_man

Aug 29, 2006
    UK
    They're important but not super important. Most amps have a DI out. Depends if you want your amp to be involved in any EQing.

3. tyohars

tyohars

Nov 11, 2016
    In my country, not famous musician like mine not using our own amp. We only bring bass and pedalboard. So, what do you think?

4. Bassist30

Bassist30 Supporting Member

Mar 19, 2004
    NEW YORK
    DI's have changed over the years. Its made to take a high impedance signal to low impedance. But over the years they have changed to make the signal similar to a pre/Di (add color/ hi and low eq/distortion). But I agree a DI is important when connection to a PA or recording console is required. As far as the original post requesting a question about the radial stage bug for your first DI. I used one once and it worked fine as the sound company found them easy to use and pack away. I prefer the radial JDI or J48. But to have a DI with you and easy to carry the stage bug would be great and priced right.

Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
    Zbysek likes this.
  5. grillman

grillman

Dec 15, 2014
    I live in Thailand. It is pretty much the same situation as Indonesia. Every bar will have amps available and often they are mic’d.