1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

How in-pitch do I need to be in order to sound in tune.

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by jazzyvee, Mar 1, 2021.

1. jazzyvee

jazzyvee

Aug 11, 2012
    United Kingdom
    I'm a beginner in double bass (EUB) and had about 4 lessons in 2019 before the Covid lock down and so I have been self teaching over the past year until I can get back to my tutor.
    I did have some outdoor rehearsals with a Brazillian band during the summer last year when the restrictions were eased over here in the UK and no-one in the band made any comments about me being off pitch although I did notice some myself.

One of the things I have been doing is to record myself in my practice sessions and listening back and also when playing along with bass-less backing tracks of Jazz standards. What I notice is that when I'm actually playing it sounds like I am pretty close to or right on pitch, but when I play the recording back I can be off pitch more than I thought though thankfully not horribly out and mostly a lot less than a semitone.
    I am obviously practicing to be on pitch all the time, but I wondered how close to bang on the note is acceptable?
    Sometimes I do my scales with the tuner clipped to the bridge and play slowly and focus on getting the notes right.

Also is correcting an off note during the envelope of the note acceptable?
    Any enlightenment would be gratefully received.

2. Hummergeist

Hummergeist Commercial User

Jul 21, 2020
    London
    Ableton Live tutorials and product reviews for Computer Music magazine.