Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How is he getting that amazing tone???

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bassdaddy5, May 19, 2005.

1. bassdaddy5

bassdaddy5

May 18, 2005
    Hey Everyone. I'm new to talkbass,what an amazing place for info. I'm 32 and been playing for 18 years. I'm an OK player but terrible at dialing in specific tones. So if anyone has any suggestions I would be very happy to hear them. How does Tim C. from Audioslave, Rage against the machine get his amazing tone. Songs like, Like a Stone (Audioslave) and Bulls on Parade (Rage). I can't afford to spend good money after bad with different pedals until i find this sound. I have the following gear.
    American Fender Jazz Deluxe V
    Ibanez Srx705
    Eden Metro
    Digitech Bp50
    Does anyone else like the tone I'm talking about? It's the perfect sound for the types of songs my band writes.

Cheers

2. TaySte_2000

TaySte_2000

Jun 23, 2001
    Manchester, UK
    Endorsing Artist: Mojohand, Subdecay, Overwater, Matamp
    I always felt I got close with a DOD 250 OD/Pre very good and cheap pedal, have a look around for one.

Now Timmy C is imfamous for not letting his tone secrets slip, he even has dummy pedals on his board to fool people.

He apparently uses/used a Marshall Gov'ner but an early model the new one sound nothing like his tone.

He also had some modified ashdown amps that are constantly in the red and producing a nice bit of overdrive.

Seriously have a look for a dod 250 very cheap especially second hand

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/fg=102/g=home/search/detail/base_id/42046

Another option if you want the best would be the Fulltone Bass Drive, this would probably get you really really close but its quite a bit more than that DOD pedal I have mentioned

Hope this helps

3. PhilMan99

PhilMan99

Jul 18, 2003
    US, Maryland