How long before GAS sets in?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by IotaNet, Dec 20, 2004.

1. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

To the Group -

I am ANGRY with all of you!!!

Three weeks ago, I told you I was a newbie who was interested in buying a bass.

Two weeks ago, I bought my bass (A MIM Jazz) and have been shedding on scales and tone. That's my mantra these days ...
    scales and tone,
    scales and tone,
    scales and tone ....

I'll be hooking up with an instructor after the holidays so I can get started in earnest.

BUT - I am angry because NOBODY WARNED ME ABOUT GAS!!!

I figured it was something that would happen after about 6-12 months ... you know, after I got some CHOPS?? :mad:

But NOOOOO ...

Today, I ran across a picture of something I first saw years ago and it is still sexy as h**l to me! This Thread! :cool:

I first saw one of these years ago and thought it was the bomb back then ... now that I am actually learning to PLAY bass, I am feenin' all over again! (I had no idea that the onset of GAS could occur so quickly!)

Anyway - I am letting logic prevail and am stepping away from the keyboard (and my PayPal card.) Quick - somebody give me moral support!

- Iota
  2. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Thats my old bass :)
  3. Andy Brown

Andy Brown Supporting Member

Jul 23, 2004
    Rhode Island
    Founder: Wing Bass
    Check out the Steinberger Spirits at reasonably priced, decent quality.
  4. rogerbmiller

rogerbmiller Gold Supporting Member

Sep 16, 2003
    My $.02, the Spirits are very cool but the Hohners are much better instruments. I owned a Hohner b2AFL and a 1986 Steinberger XP-2, and I liked the Hohner more than the Cheesbeurger which cost me 4X as much.
  5. Rod B.

Rod B.

Jun 11, 2002
    Not everyone gets GAS. Some are immune to the disease. Others get it and it is incurable. It can go into remission, but always rears its ugly head again.

Welcome to the club. :meh: :smug:
  6. A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Sinny, Oztraya