How long did it take you to get your dream bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by darkspec, Sep 21, 2003.

1. darkspec

Jan 2, 2003
    Cleveland Ohio
    Hey guys, I was just sitting here playing my bass as I realized I own 3 cheap-o basses. And soon to be 4. I know its nothing to be ashamed of, but I still envy for a high class bass. I dream of buying a warwick thumb nt 5. Way out of my class, so my question is to all the older and younger players, How long did it take you to get that ever exquiste dream bass?
  2. Danny R.

Danny R. Supporting Member

A lot of years, I started playing when I was 9, I had a cheap peavey fury, I played with that bass 'till I was 15, then I got a cheap Ibanez SR805, then when I turned 18 (I had a good job by then) I went to sam ash and bought a nice Warwick FNA, you don't need to spend a lot of money in a great bass, just look for good deals on the net.
  3. For my dream bass...i dunno if i actually have one...But if it counts...ill say the Steve Harris sig i bought earlier this summer. Ive wanted one ever since it came out(Just cause im such a Maiden nut :p)
    It took me like 2 years to get one...but it had nothing to do with me not having money for just had to due to the fact there just arent many around so it took me a while to find one.

When i see a bass i want it only takes me a couple months to get money together. I have a really great paying job.
    Only catch is its when fall/winter arrives...i have to be a bit more cautious about how i spend my money. So i do all my bass buying usually in the summer. :)
  4. bill h

bill h

Aug 31, 2002
    small town MN
    Do you ever have a dream bass??? I say this because once you get a new bass be it $5.00 or $5,000 how long will it be till you GAS for a new and better bass? I know thats very pessimistic, but it's just the way things go for me.