How long did it take you?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by tplyons, Apr 30, 2004.

1. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I've been playing double bass for about 2 1/2 months total, the last month has been relaxing my hands due to carpal tunnel syndrome, and I can safely say I'm the 2nd best bassist in my orchestra with 7 bassists. I can play everything note for note in tune with the 1st chair bassist, with the exception of 16th note passages and quicker 8th note passages. I can sight read rather well considering I've only been reading bass clef for 3 months (never tried as an electric player). Is this a normal transition period for previous electric players to double bass? Should I be able to progress quicker? I have yet to find a teacher... the music school first couldn't find a teacher, and now isn't returning my phone calls... It's been two months so I'm going to pay them a very displeased visit soon.

Now that I'm done rambling, am I progressing quickly or what? Orchestra director says I'm competition for first chair next year.
  2. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"
    Bravo to you for beginning the journey. It's hard to start anything, any time. YOU NEED A TEACHER. YOU'RE HURTING YOURSELF. DON'T TAKE NO FOR AN ANSWER.

Bear in mind that the first chair and the last chair play the same sheet of music.

It's not a race, Tim. One of my old bosses used to say, "It takes five years to get past the beginner mistakes . . . in anything." It sounds like you're doing fine and have years of satisfaction and learning ahead of you.
  3. Two Ply:
    You are remembering to enjoy the music once in a while, right?
    It's music: there is no finish line, so what's the rush?
  4. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ