How Long Did You Play Before 1st Gig?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Bass-A-Nova, Apr 24, 2001.

1. Bass-A-Nova

Bass-A-Nova Guest

Nov 2, 2000
    Just curious. Haven't come across this one anywhere else in TB, sorry if it's out there. But I'm wondering...I've been playing bass (ok maybe "playing" is a relative term here) for exactly 1 year this week. I try to practice for an hour or two daily. A couple of jams with friends have gone OK, nothing special or monumental. But with summer coming, I wouldn't mind finding a band that I can actually play out with, maybe only on weekends. At what point did the rest of you decide you were good enough (in yer own mind) for public consumption? 6 months? A year? Five years? Two days?

Also, did any of you who have played out ever regret playing a first gig - maybe wished you'd waited longer until you were more polished? Or are you ever really "polished" enough?
  2. I've been playing for about two years, and I still haven't played any gigs. It's really getting on my nerves because I'm getting tired of plaing my Warwick in my room by myself. I might be in a band this summer, becuase my friend hates the bassist in his band.
  3. Guitargirl

Guitargirl Guest

Apr 18, 2001
    Upstate New York
    I've only been playing a little over 4 years and as soon as I could play a couple of songs (few months)I was getting on stage. Open mics are great and it helped to have a boy friend in a band, so I made plenty of "guest" appearances. I have since played in several bands. Confidence in yourself is all ya need. As for being polished, my believe is that there is always gonna be something to learn or something that ya just can't get. No matter what...GO FOR IT!

4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member