1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How long do you allow a customer to take to make the final payment?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by tjclem, Nov 17, 2006.

1. tjclem

tjclem Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    I have been doing custom orders for a a few years and have never run into this problem before. Normaly when the bass is ready the customer sends the payment fast. I now have 2 bases that have been done for over a month each. Both customers have been telling me they don't have the $ and they will get it to me when they can. I am not a bass storage facility despite what my wife thinks. :rollno: What would you people do about it?.......tom

2. guy n. cognito

guy n. cognito Secret Agent Member

Dec 28, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    Do you have a contract with these clients? If not, you should. I would say that 30 days is more than reasonable, then the item goes up for sale.

3. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol

The local luthier had issues with this.
    Now he will keep them for 3 months after completion and after that they're for sale at a rebate price.
    The initial customer gets back the money of the sale minus the amount he owes to the builder.

4. tjclem

tjclem Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    They each supplied the hardware and a deposit. What I have told them in October is that they had until December 1st to be paid in full or I will keep the bass and refund only the $ they have sent me. How does that sound? My recent custom orders I now require a 50% deposit on after this mess.t

5. Rodent

Rodent A Killer Pickup Line™ Commercial User

Dec 20, 2004
    Upper Left Corner (Seattle)
    Player-Builder-Founder: Honey Badger Pickups & Regenerate Guitar Works
    for me, it depends on

* the relationship I've established with the specific customer