Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How long had you been playing before you could....?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by metallicarules, Aug 8, 2002.

1. I did a search but couldn't find the answer I was looking for.
    I've been playing for 2 years now and I suppose I've been progressing alright to the point now where I'd say I'm an intermediate bassist. I don't have problems with any of the stuff my band plays but lately I've been feeling in a bit of a rut so I've been trying to learn some more difficult songs like some Rush tunes, and maybe some Jaco, Yyz currently. This has proven to be quite frustrating as I think I am in a bit over my head and now I'm starting to wonder how well I really am progressing, so I thought I'd ask, for those of you who can play these more advanced songs, how long had you been playing before you could?

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

This is exactly why you need a teacher - to give objective assessments and to help you get beyond these barriers.

3. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Im in the same boat as metallicarules. I cant afford a teacher though.

your sort of in between levels, in between intermediate, and whatever comes next. Id like to see what other people say aswell. :D