How long have you been playing bass?

Discussion in 'Barker Bass Forum' started by IotaNet, Oct 30, 2005.

1. Less than a year

2. 2-10 years

3. 10-20 years

4. So long that I don't want to talk about it!

1. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

I've noticed that Barker Bassists span the gamut of experience from newbies to gigging pros.

How long have you been playing bass?
  2. edo801

Nov 1, 2005
    Greetings deep dwellers and multi-stringers

I've been playing bass for 30 years. That seems like a long time but in fact it seems like very little time to me. I remember saying to myself that I couldn't wait to have 20 years under my belt. Well it's 30 years later and I'm still obsessive about practicing. I still feel like there's more to learn and much more music to play.
    I think what's even more amazing is watching what came and went in the Bass Manufacturing world.(And what has stuck around) Back then, Alembic was the only high end game in town, Fender was a house hold name and if you played a Gibson bass, you were seen as a renegade. Rickenbacker Basses turned heads when you pulled it out the case but only a daring few stepped out of the Fender sound.
    Then Travis Bean and Kramer came and went with their Aluminum Necks. Steinberger stunned us with the Graphite headless designs. Boy were we put off, then Ibanez comes out with their Lawsuit specials, 5 Strings was way out of line, 6 string basses annoyed Guitarist and engineers, Midi basses had poor tracking records, but managed to hang on. Chapman Stick comes out and gives a whole new meaning to "one man Band",multi stringed basses becomes the norm, Electric Uprights allows us freedom to travel witout the bulk and Lee Barker steps ouf from tradition to develope the Barker Bass.