How long should a cracked headstock repair take?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ICM, Jun 12, 2017.

1. ICM

ICM Supporting Member

EDIT: Its back!!! Scroll down to last post for update.

I think this is the correct forum, if not, mods, please move!

So basically what happened was my friend fell on my bass and cracked off the headstock. Needless to say, I was very upset, especially considering this was my holy grail Hofner V62, the bass I've wanted ever since I started playing. So she broke my favorite thing in the world. It was heartbreaking seeing the bass like that. She is paying for the repair, which I appreciate, so all is not lost. And atleast is was a clean break with zero-to-minimal splintering.

The question I have is, how long does something like this normally take to be repaired?

When I brought it into the music store, I said I wanted the repair fixed and then some clear nitro put over it to prevent any humidity from seeping in; nothing fancy, just all function.

I was told it would be 2-3 weeks. I was happy because that meant I'd most likely have it back before a gig. Almost three months later, I still don't have the bass. I gave it to them on the 15th of March. That's three days shy of three months. I understand a good repair takes time, but I was told 3 weeks. The last couple times I stopped in and asked about it, I was told that is was "behind 30 guitars in line." Recently the luthier called me to ask a question, I returned his call, left a voicemail, and he hasn't even called me back. I'm starting to get a feeling they don't really care how long it takes...