1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How long should my battery last in my bass?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Epidrake, Jul 31, 2012.

1. Epidrake

Epidrake

May 24, 2011
    Sorry but I can't find this question when I do a search.

I'm a newbie to active basses. I just got a new TBC J-bass and it seems the battery only lasts a week, even if I rarely play it. I don't leave it plugged in. What could be the problem?
    Should I buy a BassMods preamp and replace the supplied one?

I love the sound and the feel of the TBC, but I'm feeling that there is something wrong here.

Please help.

2. jtl1380

jtl1380

Oct 12, 2010
    Asheville, NC
    Well, you're not leaving it plugged in which is a good thing b/c that will kill the battery quick. You should also make sure that the volume is turned all the way down when you're not playing and make sure that you are using good quality batteries.

I will say that whatever preamp it is that Jack puts in the TBC's does seem to kill batteries faster than other active preamps I've used. I have gotten much better battery life since I put in the BassMods pre (albeit I need 2 batteries now), plus the BassMods pre gives you an active/passive option. When I'm not playing mine, I'll generally pull out the volume knob and let it sit in passive mode to help preserve battery life. I put that preamp in about 3 mos ago & I've had to change the batteries once.

3. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned Commercial User

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    It sounds like either the output jack is mis-wired, or more likely there is a short somewhere in the bass that is draining the battery.