1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How many BOIL strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by 80'sRocker, Nov 1, 2010.

1. Many many years ago I was reading a Rudy Sarzo magazine article where he had mentioned that he boiled his bass strings when they became dull sounding. I had also heard of this through others. I've been doing it ever since! I try not to do it more than 1-2 times, after that they get chucked. Are there any other cheapskates like me out there who boil their bass strings? Note: Don't boil coated strings!

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I typed 'boil' into the search function, and guess what?

3. plangentmusic

plangentmusic Banned

Jun 30, 2010
    Manhattan
    Tried it. Made them sound worse.

4. sorry I didn't search it out, newbie here for posting. relax

5. FunkMetalBass

FunkMetalBass

Aug 5, 2005
    Phoenix, Arizona 85029
    Endorsing Artist: J.C. Basses
    Not anymore. Denatured alcohol soaks work much better and you can do it more than twice without risking string integrity.

6. Yerf Dog

Yerf Dog

Jun 29, 2009
    Carol Stream, IL
    Only when I run out of pasta.

7. Corevalay

Corevalay Supporting Member

Sep 10, 2009
    New Jersey
    I've never tried it but a friend of mine always did it. He swears by it, I'd personally rather just get a new pack of strings.

8. Thunderthumbs73

Thunderthumbs73

May 5, 2008
    Yes. Saved thousands of dollars worth of new strings this way over the years. For the price of strings (over time), which eventually get thrown in the trash, I've taken that money and bought basses (which aren't thrown away). I just need the strings to be spanky for the gig, on some basses. So I boil a set, sometimes, for certain basses, for certain gigs. I may boil a set 10 times or more. I toss the set when one of the strings in the set breaks.