How many have you defected from 6 string guitar?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by fireincairo, Jul 9, 2008.

1. fireincairo

fireincairo

Jul 8, 2008
    I mean relatively serious guitarists. I've been playing guitar for over 20 years. In that time, I've managed to become a mediocre player. For the past 10 years, though, I've been dabbling with the bass. Having spent most all of my guitar time as a rhythm player, I'm almost getting the feeling I was meant to play bass. It seems to come naturally to me, so I've decided to stop fighting it. No more bass playing on the side for home recordings, I'm relagating the 6 string to that stature now.

Anyone else defect? :ninja:

2. mikopita

mikopita Supporting Member

Feb 22, 2007
    Florida
    About 15 years ago, I was in a band with another guitarist when the bass player flaked out hours before a gig. I volunteered for the task of learning all of our material that day on an old beat up Kramer owned by the keyboard player. Ever since then, I haven't gone a day without playing bass. Soon after that gig I sold a PRS guitar, a Mesa Boogie Mark III amp, and a couple of footpedals to buy my first rig and bass (actually I had an Aria Pro II bass in High School, but that was short lived).

I found bass to be way more satisfying on many levels. Now when people ask what instruments I play, Bass always comes first.

3. Nyarlathotep

Nyarlathotep Inactive

Feb 5, 2006
    West Coast of Canada
    I knew I was meant to play bass after constantly downtuning over the course of 2 or 3 years.

Standard lead to drop D -> DGCFAD -> drop C -> CFA#D#GC -> Drop B -> BEADF#B -> Drop A.

At that point I didn't even consider tuning to ADGCEA, I just got a damn bass.

And downtuned it over the course of a year. Quite happy with ADGCF :D