how many of you actually play a fretless, and how many just have one lying around?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by furiously funky, Apr 23, 2003.

1. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    it seems like everyone owns a fretless 4, but how many of you actually gig with it (or play it at all) on a regular basis?
  2. Monkey

Monkey Supporting Member

Mar 8, 2000
    Dayton, Ohio, USA
    I have 3 fretlesses and I fretted. The fretted is the orphan in my collection. I've been gigging with a fretless since the mid-80's, and feel handicapped when I have to play a fretted.
  3. mikgag

mikgag Guest

Mar 25, 2002
    Mine will be finished in 1 month......:( :)
  4. I've been playing bass for 21 years and fretless for 20 of those. unless it's a heavy slap gig, I bring a fretted and a fretless to each performance.

I find that how much I play each goes in cycles. for the last year or two I've had more call to play fretted, but for the 3 years before I was playing them equally. in the two years before THAT, I was playing almost exclusively fretless.

when I'm recording it's nearly a dead even split.

part of why I'm doing so little fretless at the moment is that I recently sold my primary fretless and am having a new one built. I'm nowhere near as happy with the sound of my backup as I was with my main source of MWAH.

from the low end,

5. I run hot and cold with mine. Over the course of a year, it probably sees about 25% of my stage time.
  6. By-Tor

Apr 13, 2000
    Sacramento, CA
    Mine just lies around. I pick it up every once in a great while just for fun.

The reason is, it is an old BC Rich Warlock.
    Short story, I let my friend borrow it for some gigs and when I got it back the neck was completly wasted. He decided to "set it up".
    Anyway I decided what the heck and ripped the frets out.

I know its a Warlock, When I was younger I traded a bike for it, so I could have a back up bass.