Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

how many of you actually play a fretless, and how many just have one lying around?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by furiously funky, Apr 23, 2003.

1. furiously funky

furiously funky Guest

Dec 28, 2002
    Toronto
    it seems like everyone owns a fretless 4, but how many of you actually gig with it (or play it at all) on a regular basis?

2. Monkey

Monkey Supporting Member

Mar 8, 2000
    Dayton, Ohio, USA
    I have 3 fretlesses and I fretted. The fretted is the orphan in my collection. I've been gigging with a fretless since the mid-80's, and feel handicapped when I have to play a fretted.

3. mikgag

mikgag Guest

Mar 25, 2002
    Mine will be finished in 1 month......:( :)

4. I've been playing bass for 21 years and fretless for 20 of those. unless it's a heavy slap gig, I bring a fretted and a fretless to each performance.

I find that how much I play each goes in cycles. for the last year or two I've had more call to play fretted, but for the 3 years before I was playing them equally. in the two years before THAT, I was playing almost exclusively fretless.

when I'm recording it's nearly a dead even split.

part of why I'm doing so little fretless at the moment is that I recently sold my primary fretless and am having a new one built. I'm nowhere near as happy with the sound of my backup as I was with my main source of MWAH.

from the low end,

Stew

5. I run hot and cold with mine. Over the course of a year, it probably sees about 25% of my stage time.

6. By-Tor

By-Tor

Apr 13, 2000
    Sacramento, CA
    Mine just lies around. I pick it up every once in a great while just for fun.

The reason is, it is an old BC Rich Warlock.
    Short story, I let my friend borrow it for some gigs and when I got it back the neck was completly wasted. He decided to "set it up".