Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How many of you are making the six string jump for christmas?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by The_Ryst, Dec 19, 2005.

1. :)

I've saved up enough money plus my parents help (thank God my mom is a Violin teacher and supports music!) to score a six (I'll tell about it once I get it...don't wanna jinx anything...I know I know, but still...)

We're picking it up today.
    (Can't play it until sunday)
    d'oh.

Oh well....still....I can't wait.

So how many of you are making "the transition" this christmas (and you know it, I mean some will be surprised I guess) and how long do you think it'll take you to fully adapt?

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Six string bass or guitar?

As a bassist, I've typically gotten guitar goodies for Christmas.

3. elros

elros

Apr 24, 2004
    Norway
    Proprietor, Helland Musikk Teknologi
    Well, I am, sort of, hopefully. If my new Benavente fretless 6 arrives this week, which it could, then I'll be playing that quite a lot. But it's not like I'm jumping away from my 7-string.

I'm just hoping Chris will put aside all the other nice instruments he's working on, and finish mine first. ... perhaps not. :)

4. Edwcdc

Edwcdc I call shotgun!

Jul 21, 2003
    Columbia MD USA
    I'm actually making the jump from 6 string to 5 string.
    That doesn't mean I will stop playing the sixer but I just wanted to have a 5.

5. smartinson

smartinson

Dec 15, 2005
    Bettendorf, IA
    I plan on making the jump from 5 to 6 this Xmas....pending any 'unforseen' expenses. I'm not sure how long it will take me to adapt to the six. I think if I tune from B-B it shouldn't be too hard to make the transition...knock on wood.

6. Aj*

Aj*

Jun 14, 2005
    West Yorkshire, UK