how many of you play guitar and bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by downward spiral, Aug 6, 2001.

1. downward spiral

downward spiral

Jul 20, 2001
    and if so, which did you start first? I play bass and piano (I've been playing piano for waaay longer than bass).

I like the bass but because of my personality everyone says I should play the guitar cause I'm always talking most and kind of in the spotlight among people so I don't know what to do.
    I have a guitar personality (or a lead singer one but i suck at singing) and I like the bass... dilemma.
  2. ARA punk

ARA punk

Jul 11, 2001
    USA, Shelby, NC
    I kinda started playing guitar before bass. I havent played the guitar since i started playing bass about 2 and a half months ago and i just picked up my guitar two days ago and it felt so wierd pressing down those tiny strings and messing up with the spacing. But it was fairly easy. I am still convinced bass is harder that guitar
  3. Well...I am primarily a guitar player. I'm currently learning *BASS*....not guitar on bass.

I also took a semester of piano a couple of years ago. I feel it's important to see the viewpoint of more that one instrument especially when trying to compose of my desires for the future.

Music is like food...too much of one thing is boring. Sometimes I like to wail on guitar and other times I really appreciate a good rhythm section that *GROOVES*.

Without a great foundation, music is nowhere.
    And as much as I love guitar, playing bass is really satisfying and FUN. (It also helps with being a better improvisor on guitar by recognizing and being more aware of chord tones)

I will have to admit, I have met a lot of dumba** guitarists who play louder than hell (I never was loud) and were arrogant. I was always a team player until my *spotlight*time came up. Then back to the corner while the primadonna vocalist did their thing.