How many of you...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by fenderbass1214, Jan 4, 2003.

1. fenderbass1214

fenderbass1214 Guest

Oct 29, 2002
    How many of you got lessons and learned from a teacher and how many of you taught yourself?
  2. malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City
    I did both. First I taught myself and went along dumb and happy for a few years, playing covers after learning them by ear.

A few years ago I went out and found a good instructor to help me get beyond the basics of reading and to help iron out some of my ingrained bad habits.

If I had it to do all over again I would have started working with an instructor right out of the gate. When you decide to be "self-taught" you limit your exposure to new ideas. You don't know what it is that you don't know.

3. Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    I've had two teachers and i've been self-taught.

The first teacher i had, had a big reputation for being a great teacher, but, imo, he was awful. He barely taught me anything about technique or theory (these are classical DB lessons, btw.) Just some one-octave ionian scale fingerings and a couple excercises. He mainly had me play written bass solos. At the time, i wasn't nearly as good as a reader as I am today, but those lessons weren't much of a help of anything. One serveral occasions, the teacher did not show up (i had lessons at my school) and i wasn't informed.

The teacher i'm currently studying with couldn't be better. He gives me vast amounts of material to work with, study, and learn. He's a helpful, responsible, kind and fair guy. My improvement shows from week to week.
  4. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    I started off Teaching myself.. I have had one teacher working with me on my jazz chops.. I've met alot of great bass players and talked for hours with them about technique and what not... I've takin A.P theory in highschool and College theory. You are taking lessons from someone whether you realize it or not...
  5. Wrong Robot