Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How many songs in a Set?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Mike88T, May 20, 2004.

1. Just looking for examples.
    My band generally does classic blues/rock covers and a few originals. Since we have a paying gig coming up at a place where we have already played twice, and we will have to do 4 sets as opposed to only the two we played before, we plan on adding anywhere from 12-16 songs in the next month. We have only been playing together for about 6 months and I am an amateur, so the 20 or so songs I know are all in the two original sets plus a few more that were nixed due to content or inability of our singer to do them without tearing up his voice.
    Our singer/guitar player insists that we need 40 minutes of playing time then a 20-minute break. I just took this as common but have lately been thinking that I don’t really have anybodies opinion but his on what a “set” should be. My main problem is that neither the guitar player or I are good enough to pull of any decent solos of any kind so half of the songs in our sets are a bit shorter then the originals, consequently we do 7-8 songs a set. Adding another 14-16 songs over the next month is going to be tough, the guitarist is working on the solos but I doubt he will get far enough along to drop more then a couple of songs off the total.
    So the question is how long do your sets run?
    How many songs per set?
    Length of average song?
    Do you go right into the next song barring unforeseen problems or do you chat the room a bit between songs?

Thanks for the replies, I couldn’t find a thread like this in search

2. Schwinn

Schwinn

Dec 4, 2002
    Sarasota, FL