How many strings Have you broken?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Cogno, Jun 27, 2001.

1. Cogno

Cogno Guest

Jun 11, 2001
    I have been playing Bass since 1964. I Have only broken one string. It was a Fender Black Nylon D string on a Fender Coronado bass in 1970. It doesn't count if it broke when you were changing strings, only after it.
  2. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I've never broken a string.
  3. Cogno

Cogno Guest

Jun 11, 2001
    PS: It might be woth mentioning if you play with a Pick or not to see if that increases breakage. I play with my fingers 100%.
  4. brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    You must play very delicately. I break strings constantly. Its a way of life for me. I change strings quite often now to ensure I minimize breaking them during shows, cause when that happens it totally sucks a big bag of rotten worm droppings.

Fingers 100%
  5. Cogno

Cogno Guest

Jun 11, 2001
    I play differently depending on the song. I do very little thumb work. I have been known to play very hard on occasion when I have drank over my limit in a slease club or Frat part.
  6. after playing for six months i broke 4 strings. the first orginal pair of ibanez string, Ernie Ball slinkys, fenders, and now elixirs but i haven't managed the break one of the elixirs yet.
  7. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    I have been playing for over 6 years and have broken two strings. Also, relman, you stinker, your signature is my quote! ;)
  8. MJB

Mar 17, 2000
    zip. zero. none. nada.
  9. Newsted

Jun 24, 2001
    let me see i play bass for 2,5 years i lay with my finger and about 3 ours the day and i have break 4 E(1 i used it like an arrow string to throw pen to my gutarist)3 A, 1D and 5 or 6 G
  10. none. i broke a G string when i first started playing, tried to tune it too high :rolleyes: but none from playing, and i play pretty hard sometimes.