Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How many strings Have you broken?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Cogno, Jun 27, 2001.

1. Cogno

Cogno Guest

Jun 11, 2001
    South
    I have been playing Bass since 1964. I Have only broken one string. It was a Fender Black Nylon D string on a Fender Coronado bass in 1970. It doesn't count if it broke when you were changing strings, only after it.

2. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I've never broken a string.

3. Cogno

Cogno Guest

Jun 11, 2001
    South
    PS: It might be woth mentioning if you play with a Pick or not to see if that increases breakage. I play with my fingers 100%.

4. brewer9

brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    You must play very delicately. I break strings constantly. Its a way of life for me. I change strings quite often now to ensure I minimize breaking them during shows, cause when that happens it totally sucks a big bag of rotten worm droppings.

Fingers 100%

5. Cogno

Cogno Guest

Jun 11, 2001
    South
    I play differently depending on the song. I do very little thumb work. I have been known to play very hard on occasion when I have drank over my limit in a slease club or Frat part.

6. after playing for six months i broke 4 strings. the first orginal pair of ibanez string, ernie ball slinkys, fenders, and now elixirs but i haven't managed the break one of the elixirs yet.

7. 0

8. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    I have been playing for over 6 years and have broken two strings. Also, relman, you stinker, your signature is my quote! ;)

9. MJB

MJB

Mar 17, 2000
    zip. zero. none. nada.

10. Newsted

Newsted

Jun 24, 2001
    Greece(athens)