Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

how many watts do i need?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by crashie, Jan 12, 2004.

1. i'm a beginner and picking a rehearsing rig for myself. we do practice in garage and drummer plays pretty loud usually.
    So here's my kind of lame question: how many watts do I need for covering that garage, and what my best pick will look and cost like?
    right now i'm playing on old (~1970) 70 Watt/16 Ohm tube amp into "custom cab" i built. its a big MDF box with a huge (almost 15") 25wt(50 max) soviet speaker and horn. of course it sucks, i tend to overload it and the tone is ****ty. ( i like when its punchy, but thats always cost alot).

needless to say i'm on a tight budget. thanks a lot.

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I predict somebody will say you need at least 300 watts to play out and/or, that it should be : how many watts!! ;)

3. ah, thanks.
    i found some old thread with guys saying that 300W is no enough. that does scare me! :/

4. NeedMoreBass

NeedMoreBass unregistered

Feb 14, 2003
    I suggest looking for an older GK 400RB. I've heard guys cover outdoor gigs with these amps, it should do a garage. Usually go for about $150.

5. thanks. there are some on ebay <=150. if only ebay wasnt so far away :)
    and what cabs would go with it?

6. zoran

zoran

May 10, 2002
    croatia
    Don't worry, it is enough. Also it depends about cab efficiency, too. But generally I never had volume problems with my old 225W Trace elliot head exept on big open door venues, but with a little help of PA system you will survive.

7. thanks. i guess i'll always have PA on venues larger then our garage :)

also do you know any sites where used gear can be shipped to eastern europe? i'll have trouble finding all that stuff in ukraine for sure.

8. Bruce Lindfield