1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How much difference do pots/caps/wire make?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Carl E, Mar 8, 2008.

1. Carl E

Carl E

Feb 26, 2008
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I am pretty new to bass, and have a rewiring question. I will be replacing a passive P pickup in Squier standard bass (not Affinity) and while I am in there would have the opportunity to replace the wiring, including the pots and cap. I know the common advice would be to replace everything while I am in there (remember, it is a Squier), but really how much difference would heavier wire, Orange Drop cap and CTS pots make over stock? I am fairly comfortable soldering (but don't particularly enjoy it), but it would be a lot easier to make only the two solder joints for the pickup instead redoing everything. I am not having any problems with any of the stock electronics, but wanted to upgrade if it really did make a noticeable difference in tone. Thanks!

2. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I grow organic carrots and they are not for sale
    This is from the Stewmac site ... http://www.stewmac.com/

"Your tone is affected by the control pots you use. Not just the tone control — the volume pot influences tone, too.

250K vs. 500K pots
    250K pots give a slightly warmer tone than 500K because the 250K bleeds off some of the high frequencies.

250K = warmer
    500K = brighter
    1 Meg = brightest

Usually, 250K pots are used with single-coil pickups and and 500Ks are used with humbuckers. If you want to hear your guitar "wide open" with all the highs, try 1 Meg pots."

3. Carl E

Carl E

Feb 26, 2008
    Pittsburgh, PA