How much do get my bass a "tune-up"?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Wolfman200, Feb 13, 2005.

1. Hi
    I'm pretty new to bass playing and also to this website.
    I'm playing a abss that my Dad has just had around for a while. It's an Ibanez that is a copy of a Fender P-Bass.

Anyway, the action on it is horrible, but I think it would be just fine if the bridge and truss rod could be adjusted. However, I'm told that adjusting the truss rod could break the neck if you don't know what you're doing(which I don't). So, I was wondering what a guitar store might charge for fixing it up.

Another question, I have been reading about the Essex basses on this forum, and there is a lot of positive repsonse. I am thinking about buying a 5-string Essex if the cost of the tune-up is pretty close.(probably this one:
    Do you think that I should choose to buy this bass over getting the one I already own adjusted? I play mainly classic rock type stuff, but I would probably like to play some semi-jazzy stuff in the future. My current band is small, so I can defenitely be heard, and the versatility of sound with the j-pickups on the Essex might be worth the money for me.
    What do you think?

Thanks in advance for your help
  2. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    Price varies alot from shop to shop. Avoid chain stores as much as possible. Small independent guitar repair shops are the best choice. My favorite shop here in San Jose charges $125 to do a complete setup. This includes doing some fret work to level uneven frets. Major fret work would cost more, but if the work is minor, it is included in the cost of the setup.

This is a pro setup that they do. They keep the bass for a week and they tweak it little by little until it is right.
  3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002