How much do I really need to know?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by scoopscallahan, Apr 21, 2014.

1. scoopscallahan

scoopscallahan

Jun 14, 2011
    I've been playing for a few years and I've got serviceable dexterity and have memorized a lot of songs from tabs. I can play along to these songs and was able to put together a band for a while and could play the songs we covered pretty well.

The band has disbanded (pun intended) and so now I'm focusing more on learning my instrument rather than just memorizing the songs that we covered. I've spent the last few weeks trying to memorize the fretboard. I'm getting better but if you yelled D# at me it would still take a few seconds to get my finger on the G string 8th fret or A string 6th fret. I'm pretty much focused on that and nothing else for now. But once I get that down I want to make sure I'm on the right road.
    I have no desire to write my own bass lines. I don't think I need to read standard notation. Basically I play for fun and as a hobby. I'm a 42 years old lawyer, husband, and father of two so I'm not trying to make a living out of this. I'd like to be able to be handed a chord sheet and play along. I want to pick a song to learn and have it down in a matter of days instead of weeks or months as it was taking before. I want to play country (classic, alternative, southern rock influenced not nashville garbage) and hard rock (think Grunge with some melodic metal in there). I hate jazz and don't really like R&B. I like the bass because it's a support foundational instrument and not out front or a focal point (lead guitar or drums). I want to learn why the bass line I want to play was created the way it was so it is easier for me to learn and commit it to memory.

So if a guy wants to be a weekend warrior and be able to jam with his friends and play rock star a little what would you suggest I focus on after I learn the fretboard.

2. joebar

joebar

Jan 10, 2010