Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How much do YOU practice?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Tehdouglas, Feb 19, 2006.

1. Tehdouglas

Tehdouglas

Feb 10, 2006
    NH
    So how much do you guys practice on average? By practice I pretty much mean anything involving playing Bass, not just scales and the likes. Im a highschool student and I usually manage my time well to get in 3-4 hours a day, depending on homework. Of course theirs days were Im too busy or out doing stuff but this is just an average. What about you?

2. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    about 6hours.

3. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    not hardly enough

4. Herman

Herman

Dec 25, 2005
    Lynchburg, VA
    I average about 1.5-2 hours per day.

5. bassjus

bassjus

Mar 30, 2004
    Mass
    Not enough as of lately.

6. Depends. I always make an attempt to play at least an hour a day, and I usually go through with that, but sometimes I pick up my bass and dont set it down for 4, 5, 6 hours.

7. Thunder_Fingers

Thunder_Fingers

Jun 24, 2004
    Norway
    I Practice when i feel like it... when i sit down with a cd i often use 2 hours... and i go to whats called a "Folk highschool", the music line, so i get about 2 hours of playing each day...

but i tend to play whene ever i feel like it, i dont have a "Special time" i should be playing.

8. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Homework owns my life, as does tennis and other stuff, but during the week i get in about 30 minutes a day, on the weekend about 4 hours a day during band practice.

9. it's a tough question to answer because I do a lot of practicing with no bass in hand (visualization, composition and the like). I also spend a lot of time at work checking out basses but really just dickering around and not working on anything more than moving my fingers, so...