1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How much do YOU tip your pizza guy?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Earwigger, Aug 14, 2007.

1. Earwigger

Earwigger I'm a Roland man now.

Aug 23, 2005
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Hello everyone. I deliver pizzas for a living, in a moderately wealthy community in NE Ohio. I'll cut straight to the point.

Tips lately have dried up. Where we used to get 3$-5$ a pop a year ago, now we are lucky to get 1.50$. This is ironic and cruel, as gas prices have gone to almost 3$ a gallon recently.

My question/query is this: How much do YOU tip your pizza guy, and what factors determine it?

A few things to think about:
    • Pizza delivery guys are not the ones that are late with your pizza (usually). We go very fast and disobey traffic laws to get it to you on time, but if the people in the store don't make the pizza on time or if there is a very large queue and many orders ahead of yours, it's going to take a while no matter how we drive. This is usually the case, as no pizza guy would deliberately be slow in delivering a pizza.
    • The amount of pizza you order is not important, nor is the amount you spend on the pizza. The factors you should consider while tipping are your distance from the pizza store, the ease of getting to you (aka, did you give the wrong address? decide to go to the pool and make me walk all over the apt. complex looking? is there insane amounts of construction or blocked roads leading to your address?), the price of gas, and if the delivery person is nice.