1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How much power would you recomend for my situation?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by rapturebass, Mar 25, 2009.

1. rapturebass

rapturebass

Dec 6, 2008
    Connecticut
    Hi. Before you get your panties in a bunch, i have read IvanMike's sticky. Anyhow, how much power would you recomend for talent shows, small outdoor school gigs, and small all-ages club. I'm having an amp dilema and i figured you guys could help. BTW, my rhythm guitar uses a 75 watt Line 6 combo amd my lead uses a Roland Microcube. However, these are subject for change. Thanks!

2. PSPookie

PSPookie

Aug 13, 2006
    Ocoee, TN
    Off the top of my head I would say 300-500 watts sensibly EQ'd and running through adequate cabs should work just fine. IMO/YMMV etc.

3. I've been playing for 15 years with plenty of open air big stages and I've never come across a situation where 240 watts cannot deliver. For the last 10 years I have been using my GK 400RB-III with no problems whatsoever.

I have however had situations where one cabinet is not sufficient. I'd always recommend getting a smaller head and more cabs. That way you can use one cab for small gigs or 2 for bigger gigs.

4. iualum

iualum

Apr 9, 2004
    ...at least 300 watts...you can always turn the knob to the left...and two 210 cabs stacked on their side in a line array ...

5. rapturebass

rapturebass

Dec 6, 2008
    Connecticut
    thanks! Also, i'm looking at a stack pack at an affordable price for a 7th grader, and i've heard rumors that i shouldn't use only a 1x15 (what it comes with) becuase it loses the fundamental? Is this true? I will evenntually get a 4x10 for it if i get it, though.

6. mrkreuzschlitz

mrkreuzschlitz

Jun 30, 2008
    Dacula, GA
    The GK brat pack???

Don't waste your money.
    There's nothing wrong with 115's, as long as they're good ones.