1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How much wattage???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Durockrolly, Mar 28, 2013.

1. Durockrolly

Durockrolly

Nov 26, 2012
    So. Cal.
    I'm ready to pull the trigger on a new bass amp. I had a thread here a couple months ago wanting opinions on the Markbass CMD 151 Jeff Berlin. While that amp is at the top of my list I am making a last effort to see what else I may consider. My question to you is how much wattage do I really need? I am a blues guitarist that's moving into the bass side of the blues (blues jams). I play only small to medium sized bars. The drummer is never miced. The guitarist seldom plays more than a 65 watt amp.

Thanks.

2. Exploiter8

Exploiter8 Demons run when a good man goes to war

Jan 18, 2010
    Midwest
    Commercial FREE!
    200, IMHO, YMMV, etc.

X8

3. Considering the facemelting potential of 65w tube amps some more detail would be useful. Some guitarists ( apologies to actual guitarists ) need to crank them to get "my tone, man".

300w SS amp and a 2x15 will get you through anything.

4. Durockrolly

Durockrolly

Nov 26, 2012
    So. Cal.
    The bands I play with at the jams keep it at a medium level. One of my go to amps is a 65w Twin Reverb and I doubt I ever get to 5 on the volume.

5. There's a lot to be said for carrying a big stick and speaking softly. You may prefer to get the job done with the minimum of fuss. Horses for courses.

Those new 100w tube Fenders and a 2x15 might appeal, or a gk mb200 and an avatar 2x10 would probably scrape by. Go play some rigs, it's nice having 2 15's behind you but not necessary in bars with 100 chatty boozehounds.

6. +1

I would rather turn down my big rig, than not have enough amp behind me.

7. BAce

BAce

Jul 31, 2012