how often do i apply rosin?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Jay, Mar 10, 2001.

1. Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH
    Hi ya'll. I'm from up thar (don't hurt me)...I play EB but first and foremost I am a musician. Now that we have that outta the way...

I am getting into violin now and someday, when I can afford it, double bass. My question today is: How often should I apply rosin to my bow? And what kind...Swedish, Pops, etc...? I live in SE Texas where it's hot and 110% humidity. I've heard that this would affect the rosin to use. And just in case, I do plan on getting a teacher this summer. Thank you.
  2. The amount of rosin to use is really a personal preference issue. It really depends on how much grip you want - and that can change depending on the kinds of pieces you are playing.

In general, I tend to use quite a bit of rosin - that way I can really relax my bow arm and know that the hair will grip the string well. I find in order to get the most sound (when required), it is important for me to really back off in order to let the bass be free to vibrate fully. I find when I don't have enough rosin, I tend to try to 'force' the bow to grip the string, which of course doesn't work very well.
  3. Are you asking about violin rosin or Double Bass Rosin? There is a difference, and many variables,
    personal preference being the first. I've seen guys who use so much rosin you could actually see chunks on the hair :eek: and then I've seen players who don't use any. Remember, more rosin does not=
    Better sound.I use just enough so that I don't have to work too hard to get a good sound. Violin rosin is very hard, so you don't really need to worry about that melting, But based on where you are, I would recommend a harder bass Rosin. Kolsteins All-Weather comes to mind, or maybe one of the harder grades of Pirastro.
  4. There's only one hard and fast rule on rosin:
    NEVER leave it in your car on a hot day.