Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How Often Do You Peek?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Deeter, Mar 1, 2001.

1. 0%-24% of the time

22 vote(s)
    17.1%
  2. 25%-49% of the time

42 vote(s)
    32.6%
  3. 50%-74% of the time

37 vote(s)
    28.7%
  4. 75%-100% of the time

28 vote(s)
    21.7%
  1. Deeter

Deeter

Dec 5, 2000
    San Fransico, CA
    (This is my first attempt at a poll . . . bear with me.)

C'mon now, be honest. When your practicing and/or gigging, how much of the time you're playing do you spend looking at the fretboard?

I've only gigged once on bass, and spend the whole time on stage staring right at it, but that was many years ago. Now when I practice, I spend about 75%-90% looking at it if I'm not thinking about not looking at the fretboard and about 25%-33% looking at it. (I still have to peek when I play a two-octave Locrian scale)

Anyway, the point is, I still have to make a conscious effort to not look at the fretboard, but I'm working on it. How 'bout you?

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Even though I voted in the lowest category, I don't think there's any disgrace in doing it. If it helps you play better, that's what matters. Some people are a little shy about looking into the audience.

Plus, if you're playing your ass off, it can be a good visual. I just don't because after several decades of playing, I'm pretty familiar with where I am on the board and all my focus is on what's coming through my ears.

If it helps you play better, do it. You probably won't need to after a while.

3. The bulk of my playing these days is on double bass so I'd have to say I pretty much don't bother looking at my left hand there - it won't help any, there are no frets. Nothing to see here folks!