1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How often?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by wurstburst, Oct 28, 2009.

1. wurstburst

wurstburst

Nov 18, 2007
    I'm new to bass and wondering how often I might need to change strings. The bass will probably only get a few hours a week playing time. I'm hoping the answer is these will last a looooong time, because as a guitar player I am in serious sticker shock at the cost of bass strings. :eek: :crying:

Also, any suggestions on decent strings for a 5-stringer? I need a backup set at some point. Think classic rock genre stuff for the most part.

2. Billnc

Billnc

Aug 6, 2009
    Charlotte NC
    A guitar player wants mercy on the price of bass strings in a bass forum? Hah!

Rounds I changed monthly, flats age like fine wine.

3. Oren Hudson

Oren Hudson

Dec 25, 2007
    Gastonia, NC
    Often times, I'm able to use bass strings for years. For me, it's time to change when the crispness (or whatever sound that your ears like) is gone and the rust is showing. Keeping them clean is vital to extra life. Keep a towel, preferably a dish-towel (absorbency) handy and wipe after each playing. After cleaning, I coat mine with String Ease and get good longevity with that. As to strings, I've used D'Addarios for years. :cool:

4. LaklandBass

LaklandBass

Jan 26, 2005
    IL
    Coated bass strings are pretty good for longer life. I wouldnt use them in the studio but theyll get me through months of practicing at home.
    Another good idea is to boil your strings once a month if you use nickel or stainless. Just boil some water in a pot and toss em in for 5 or 10 minutes. Let em cool and youre back in business.
    Flats? yea those are good for a loooooong time.

5. Meatrus

Meatrus

Apr 5, 2009
    England