Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How picky should you be?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by thrash_jazz, May 7, 2003.

1. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    Hi all,

Starting a thread in my own forum feels a bit odd, but the "How to get out of a gig" thread made me think...

Over the past several months I have received more than a few offers to join and/or play with bands. I make it clear that I am a freelancer and NOT interested in joining full-time, but it's plainly obvious that people are asking me anyway, hoping I'll change my mind.

Thing is, sometimes I give an answer even when I don't want really want to play with them, whether it's because they aren't very good, attitude, etc.

Am I taking a big risk, reputation-wise, by turning down these kinds of gigs? Some people will no doubt say that a gig is a gig (this is the philosophy I've been going by so far), but I hate wasting my time.

Thoughts?

2. ConU

ConU

Mar 5, 2003
    La Belle Province
    If you don't need the stage experience,then be selective.Taking every gig is advisable when you're starting to see what the live thing is all about.But you should quickly hit a point where you want to be selective and take gigs that either are A)Fun and musically rewarding for YOU B)further your career C)$$.:)

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Yeah, those are the three rules I was going by before, actually! ;)

I definitely don't need the stage experience (I've been at this for nearly 10 years). If these people were playing bigger places that'd make it worthwhile (fun factor!), but they aren't.

I am also past the point at which I can learn anything useful from these types, except perhaps how NOT to do things.