1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How should I go about learning Donna Lee?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Fassa Albrecht, Feb 16, 2008.

1. I've finally decided to learn this piece of music and I've got the sheet music already.

Now I tried to learn it a month or so back but ended up giving in completely. now I want to play it again, and want to hopefully memorise it as well.

Whats the easiest way to learn this piece.

Any tips and advice for this piece will be helpful.

2. I learned Donna Lee out of the "Bird" Aebersold. I took it phrase by phrase and learned each one VERY slowly. Once I had all of them, I started playing the entire head slowly with a metronome (also with a drum loop) and gradually increased the tempo as I was comfortable.

Remember, a slow and accurate version of Donna Lee sounds better than a sloppy fast one, IMO.

Don't get discouraged.

3. onlyclave

onlyclave

Oct 28, 2005
    Seattle
    +1

The answer is "slowly".

4. bottomend!

bottomend!

Oct 23, 2007
    here
    This is a good one on a number of levels.
    The cool thing about it is the song is in two sections with the second part being 60% identical to the first, so you have that aspect to look forward to after you've worked your way through most of it ( it's like a built in reward for behaving and being good!).

Heres what to do if you want to learn the melody;

Take each bar individually and play it individually until it becomes like a little exercise unto itself. You'll need to find a fingering that works for the entier bar. Dont really worry or concern yourself at this point whether or not the fingering from one bar will connect to the next bar, just contend with one bar as it's own little island of joy/pain at this point.

Practice this one bar by being able to;

1st find a fingering

2nd say the names of the notes