How should I mute?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Kaitlyn, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Kaitlyn

Kaitlyn

Sep 7, 2017
    Okay so I'm fairly new at Bass guitar. I've been playing guitar for a long time but I realized how much I love the sound and feel of bass so I decided to switch. I'm mentioning this because on guitar I never had to worry about muting. Currently on bass I'm attempting to teach myself how to mute using both left and right hand technique. I can do it fairly okay but I was wondering if I should just go the easier route. Muting with my right hand isnt an issue for me but muting with my left hand by lightly putting my first finger over the strings not being used is slowing down my playing. I realize I should take things slow at first and that I'm not gonna be great at it in the beginning but I just wanted to know if I continue to practice will I be able to play just as quickly as I do without having to mute? Do you guys think I should teach myself to mute first? Or instead should I just buy muting foam and be done with it?

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    I use the side of a finger to mute an adjacent string. I also use 1.5" necks that allow me to wrap my thumb around to mute the E.

I also use the pads of my fingers depending on the fretboard position.

In conjunction with rh palm muting, with practice, I choose whatever's method is convenient, switching between whatever works at the moment.

Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
    Two-Spirit and Kaitlyn like this.
  3. I don't know if you are right or left handed, so I will address this as though you are right handed.

The third and fourth fingers of Your right hand mute strings lower than the one you are playing on.

The fingers of your left hand mute the strings higher than the one you are playing on.

HolmeBass and Kaitlyn like this.
  4. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Here are two clips that may help :

5. el murdoque

el murdoque

Mar 10, 2013
    Germany