Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How should I setup my effects?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by CoryBelcher, Sep 17, 2004.

1. Hey. Im pretty new to the effects realm and I was wondering if you guys could tell me how to hook up my pedals? Or give me some ideas/hints.

My setup now is
    bass>fodera pre stomp>ebs multicomp> digitech chorus> Digitech synth wah> Q-tron> BassBalls> Amp.

Now, considering the fact that I use the fodera and ebs all the time... how should I set up my effects? In what sequence?

2. Peter Parker

Peter Parker Banned

Jun 10, 2001
    Cory, you mule-lick, I would go the EBS first, then the Fodera, the Bass Synth, the BassBalls, then the chorus. The input sensitive effects like the synth should be first in the chain. The EBS will help send a consistent signal so you can really drive things. You could probably move the Fodera to the end of the chain but it probably won't make much difference.

3. what about the q-tron you has been?

4. Peter Parker

Peter Parker Banned

Jun 10, 2001
    If I have to hold your hand through this what's in it for me?

Put the Q-Tron near the from maybe after the Fodera.

5. Plug in the pedals in any order you like.

Play for 15 minutes, trying different licks with different combination of pedals.

unplug all the pedals and re-plug them in a different order.

repeat as necessary...

:bag:

6. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    If you want to keep your overall level compressed, you should probably put the ebs after effects which can vary your output level - i.e. envelope filters. Generally you put time based effects last, but those are just general recommendations - if you get a great sound with chorus before bassballs and both on, then use it!