How to add a tone knob.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by StartingLineBass, Dec 21, 2002.

1. StartingLineBass

Jul 24, 2002

I am an extreme newbie, not at bass playing but set up. The biggest thing I've done is change strings and adjust action.

Well I want to add a tone knob to my Fender Mark Hoppus sig. Bass. It's an excellent bass and I love the sound but, I'm about a 97 % percent punk player and I'm am now getting into Jazz and this bass doesn't cut it quite well with Jazz.

Is there is a website or something that will explain how I can add a tone knob??? Is it going to be exspense? I don't want to spend more the 50.00 if at all possible.

Thank you for your time
  2. punkfunkfreak

Dec 16, 2001 sure someone will take on your challenge, not sure if even the best guys here could come up with a solution thats in your pricerange though.

good luck.
  3. StartingLineBass

Jul 24, 2002
    If my memory serves, before I bought my bass I was searching the fourms on the MH bass and people were saying that adding a tone knob would not be a problem but they never said anything about how to out one on.
  4. notduane

Nov 24, 2000
    The wiring itself shouldn't be a problem. You could go with that of a standard P ...

My concern would be the space (or lack thereof) in the control
    cavity. You might wanna' consider "mini" pots.
    has some nice ones (CP251) for $3.50 a pop. You'd need two of
    those and a cap -- 0.050µf or 0.100µf (~$1.50 for 2).

If you do it all yourself, the total should be less than $20.

5. pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    You can add a tone control pretty easily if you can solder, follow a simple wiring diagram and have the means to rout a cavity for the control.

There is a kit available from Stew-Mac that has all the components that you should need. I believe the kit is less than twenty bucks.

A repair shop probably will charge more than $50.00.