1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How To Approach Teaching/What To Teach Out Of?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by korndogg524, Jan 7, 2017.

1. korndogg524

korndogg524

Jul 16, 2016
    So I am a classically trained upright bassist whom picked up electric bass playing out of necessity and lust for more gigs. I knew a good bit of theory when I first started learning so I basically taught myself either through my own knowledge of how notes work (note values, whole steps, half steps, scales, modes, e.t.c), or through Youtube videos for more technical stuff (slap and pop, right hand technique, hammer ons/pull offs, tapping). My question is because I learned this way I never really had an electric teacher anything like that, how would you teach someone electric bass or what worked for you? I've had some inquiries into if I teach electric bass and I may start giving lessons is why I ask.

2. Snaxster

Snaxster

Nov 29, 2008
    General Instruction [BG]

3. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    I combine basic musicianship, theory and learning songs. It's worked for my students thus far. Just make sure that they are learning what interests them and then you'll be able to creatively introduce more advanced musical concepts.

4. MrLenny1

MrLenny1

Jan 17, 2009
    N.H.
    Start with the basics. Most have poor fingering & lack of scale knowlwedge.
    Then focus on a tune they like & incorporate some theory.
    Bass students are rare, most music store guitar teachers double as
    bass teachers.
    Good luck.

5. Bass Guitar for Dummies would make a great book to base your lessons upon. Start on page one and advance as the student needs to.

Dummies starts off with how to hold the bass .....

6. Jloch86

Jloch86

Aug 1, 2016
    New Jersey