Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to assemble a rack

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by betohc, Feb 11, 2005.

1. betohc

betohc

Jan 19, 2005
    hi, well i'm a newbie in this matter and i really dont know a lot about it, i allways play with a rented gk800 in live concerts and practice with a laney combo. know i save some money and i want to try a whole new world, the rack world, but i want to know wich parts should i buy, in wath order and wich are a must have. i really apreciate your help tnx

2. The only real 'must haves' are a poweramp and preamp, the rest is up to you... either one of those you could run with your current head to get you started if you're going piece by piece.

Other elements you might want to add later are probably most commonly:
    A) rack tuner
    B) power conditioner
    C) compressor

3. r379

r379

Jul 28, 2004
    Dallas, Texas
    Nicoli is right about the "must haves", but I would add at least SOME kind of GOOD surge protection. It'll protect your gear and allow you to plug everything into one outlet. I use a Tripplite.

4. DubDubs

DubDubs

Aug 23, 2004
    Los Angeles
    Things you NEED to have a rack seup:
    1)A rack case (of course)
    2)A preamp and poweramp or a rackmount head
    3)Some rack hardware (screws and washers)

Additional stuff:
    1)Power condidoner (not necessary but highly recommended)
    2)Compressor
    3)Tuner
    4)Rack Drawer (to keep calbes and such in)
    5)Rack effects

5. haujobb

haujobb

Dec 16, 2004
    Wallaceburg
    I think it's essential to have a well designed patch panel on the back of your rack, nothing is more annoying than reaching into a dark rack, on a dark stage, feeling around for a little speaker jack...

6. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA