How to dress

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Mar 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    I am no spring chicken but I play in a 90's band. I struggle with how to dress appropriately. I am too old to look young so wearing a baseball cap backwards is not a good look for me. I could dress like a Blues Brother but then I look like I am out of place.

Sometimes I think the BBrother look will serve as a gimmick for people to remember the band.

Sometimes I think just wearing jeans, a t-shirt and a baseball cap in the normal way would be best. Blend in with the other guys who are in their 30's. Let's just say I am closer to 60.

Any advice for a conflicted brother bassist?

2. sears

sears Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2005
    ec, md
    flannel

3. Son of Wobble

Son of Wobble

Mar 8, 2010
    The biggest bugaboo around here is shorts, particularly cargo shorts.
    Baseball hats are widely disputed, with good argument being made that they are often a reasonable choice for players with male pattern baldness.

I would aim for keeping it as simple as possible, you don't want to look like you are trying too hard. Go shopping with a woman in her twenties (or engage
    a clerk) and buy jeans that are NOT dad cut. Add a black shoe and black long sleeve or t-shirt and leave it at that.

4. Bodeanly

Bodeanly

Mar 20, 2015
    Chicago
    Chuck's, jeans, t-shirt, tie flannel around waist.

5. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    Black pants, black shirt, black doc like boots or chucks. It's the safest bet, always.

bass81800, Alik, mike o and 24 others like this.
  6. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member

Here's some reading material to get you started...
    Gig clothes?
    Lack of style