1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How to fake an EBS Fafner???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by zanthrax, Jun 23, 2005.

1. I've had the oppurtunity to try an EBS Fafner rig twice and it always ends in the same thing...GAS, extremly severe GAS and I alwayas realize the same thing, I can't afford it in my current position (I'm a student). To make matters worse I've tested it under two completly differnt conditions, first time it was in a very soft setting with only acoutic guitar and piano and second time it was with a pop/rock band and it pulled it off excellent both times so it's versatile as h***!

Enough with my agony.

I currently play through a Taurus 2x10 and although it is a good amp (I have no problem getting good sounds out of it) the Fafner sounds even better. I've thought about getting an active extensioncab to it (a 1x15) but in the end I don't think that will adress the issue. I belive that it is the tube that is the reason, while I have a EBS MultiDrive (currently my my miracle pedal, I throw it in front of almost every amp I have to play on) that I run in front if the amp it's not really the same thing, mainly because the tube in the Fafner don't seem to add as much overdrive but just "warmth".

Does anyone know of an "el' cheapo"-variant? Preferably a seperate preamp/poweramp solution. I don't expect anything to be spot on, except for a Fafner, but anything closer than what I have now is appreciated.

Oh, and I doubt that I will be comfortable with an all tube solution. I have this feeling that I will think that it's response is a bit sluggish...

All suggestions appreciated. :)

2. Jackbass

Jackbass

Dec 19, 2003
    Paris (FRANCE)
    Wait few month and buy the new EBS pedal board preamp.